Gulu Court Commits 37 Arua Treason Suspects To High Court

Thirty-Seven people charged with treason over the Arua Municipality by-election have been committed before the High Court for trial.

They include Members of Parliament for Arua municipality Kasiano Wadri, Robert Kyagulanyi of Kyadondo East, Francis Zake of Mityana East, Gerald Karuhanga of Ntugamo municipality and 70-year old Omari Risasi Ciruson.

On Thursday last week only Wadri and Omari appeared before Gulu Grade magistrate, Issac Kintu who committed the 37 to High Court for trial on 6 August since the case is criminal in nature and not within his jurisdiction.

Magistrate Kintu issued a criminal summon to the dozens who did not appear before court.

Prosecutor, Jerome Angina alleged that the suspects on August 13th, 2018 during the Arua Municipality parliamentary by-election pelted President Musveni`s motorcade with stones.

Museveni who is chairperson of the ruling National Resistance Movement Party was in Arua to garner support for his party candidate Nusura Tiperu.

Arua municipality seat fell vacant after the murder of NRM’s Ibrahim Abiriga.

The seat was eventually won by Kassiano Wadri an independent candidate supported by a host of political players including the Democratic Party and the People Power movement of Bobi Wine, real name Robert Kyagulanyi.