NRM LCV Elections: Who Won in Acholi?

Peter Douglas Okello, the Omoro District LCV Chairperson has been declared winner of the hotly contested NRM primaries for the LCV seat, beating three other contenders.

Okello polled 16,514 votes to his closest rivals Damasco Odongo, the current District Speaker who polled 7,140 while Stephen Odong Latek polled 2,192.

Okello was declared winner by Tonny Okello, the Omoro District NRM Registrar at 2:13AM on Saturday. He won with 60.5 percent of the total vote cast. A total of 27,291 voters participated in the election.

Other contestants were Godfrey Oryem who polled 1,504 votes while Billy Graham Olanya came last with just 51 votes.

Meanwhile in Gulu District, the Awach Sub County Councilor, Christopher Opiyo Ateker, won the NRM primaries for Gulu district LCV seat.

Atekere garnered 4,887 votes beating his only rival Peter Okot, the Local Council III chairperson for Paicho Sub County who polled 3,578 votes.

Emmanuel Orach beat three other contenders in  the Nwoya District NRM primaries to become the official flagbearer of the ruling party.

In Pader District, Fearless Obwoya was declared the winner of NRM party primaries for the Pader LCV Chairperson seat. Obwoya polled 14,645 votes, defeating his closest rival, the incumbent LCV Chairperson Geoffrey Oringa Largo who came second with 10,016 votes. The other contender Alfred Akena, the former Pader District LCV Chairperson, polled 11,628 votes.

In Agago District LCV Chairperson Leonard Opiyo Ojok beat two other contenders to win the NRM flag for the LCV seat. Ojok polled 31,000 votes while his closest rival John Wilfred Okello polled 19,305 votes. John Olwoch Gunyamoi came last with 13,116 votes.

In Lamwo District, former Kitgum District LCV Chairperson Nahman Ojwee, polled 12,079 to beat two other contenders. Mathew Ochen Akiya, the former District LCV Chairperson polled 10,082 votes while Jakeyo Ocan polled 6,788 votes.