7 Nominated For Aruu North Polls

Pader returning officer Jospeh Omona

Seven candidates have been nominated to contest for the Aruu North parliamentary seat in Pader district. Election is scheduled for April 6, 2017.

The seven are Lucy Aciro Otim, back by the Forum for Democratic Change (FDC), James Nabinson Kidega Nock of the ruling National Resistance Movement (NRM), Benard Obina Ology of the Democratic Party(DP) and independent candidates; David Ojera, Henry Komakech Banya, Francis Nyero Elton Lukale and Justine Oryema Boswell.

Others who picked nomination forms but did not turn up for nominations are; Robert Komakech Obina, Benard Okeny Akamba(who stepped down in favour of Aciro) and Vincent Okot Obutu who was defeated in the DP primaries.

The Pader district returning officer Joseph Omona said the were peaceful with no major incidents.

The Aruu North parliamentary seat fell vacant after the court of appead nullified Lucy Aciro’s election on the grounds that election regulations were not followed by the Electoral Commission.