UPDF Releases South Sudanese Nationals Arrested in Uganda

The army has released from detention South Sudanese arrested on Ugandan territory.

Joseph Laju, James Anzu, James Koma, Peter Wani and Ambayo Billiton were arrested a fortnight ago from Attiak Sugar Plantation in Okidi Raa Village in Amuru district.

They were in possession of a Sub Machine Gun-SMG registration number 56-17177706 with 29 rounds of live ammunition.

The five were released on Friday last week from detention at the Forth Division Infantry barracks in Gulu and handed over together with the gun and a motorcycle to the Consulate of South Sudan in Gulu.

The South Sudan delegation included Michael Maper, the Consulate of South Sudan to Uganda in Gulu, South Sudan Liaison Officer Santino Deng and Captain James Majok.

Brigadier Bonny Bamwiseki, the Forth Division Army barracks commander handed over the detainees to the South Sudan consulate. Bamwiseki said the suspects unknowingly and wrongly entered Uganda territory with a weapon.

While receiving his countrymen, Consulate Michael Maper said they( suspects) did not have ill intentions but were unaware that they were already on Ugandan territory. He called for cooperation and peace between Uganda and South Sudan.

One of the released, Joseph Laju said they had unknowingly entered into Uganda thinking they were still on South Sudanese territory.

All the arrested are residents of Pagir County in Nimule Town Council.