Scorecard Ranks Prof Ogenga -Latigo, Oscar Omony Among Worst Performing MPs

The Member of Parliament for Agago North County in Agago District Professor Morris Ogenga- Latigo and the MP representing the Youth for Northern Region Oscar Omony have performed dismally in the 10th parliament, according to the parliamentary performance scoreboard 2018-2019.

Professor Ogenga- Latigo scored 12.2 percent in the latest ranking by Africa Leadership Institute (AFLI) released on Wednesday last week. Ogenga- Latigo however described the report as bias. He said the report did not factor his performance in the Pan African Parliament where he is a member. Ogenga said he cannot contribute in the Ugandan parliament while he is away in South Africa performing his role as a Member of the Pan African Parliament.

Meanwhile the Youth MP Oscar Omony scored 8.3 percent. Mr Omony declined to comment on his weak performance.

The State Minister for Foreign Affairs and the Chua East County MP Henry Okello Oryem who scored under 1 percent with 0.2 percent and Wilson William Nokrach, the Member of Parliament representing Persons with Disability for Northern Region, 9.8 percent were among the worst performing legislators from Acholi sub region.

Peter Okot, the Tochi County MP (23.6 percent). Anthony Akol of Kilak North County (28.8%). The duo were among the worst performers in the 10th parliament. Akol however he was not shaken by his poor performance since some MPs paid money to be ranked as good performers. This allegation could not be independently verified.

Hillary Onek, the Lamwo County who doubles as the Minister for Disaster Preparedness scored 23.5 percent followed by Reagan Okumu, the Aswa County MP with 42.5 percent.

Molly Lanyero, the Lamwo District Woman MP however performed better than her male counterparts from the region with 50.0 percent.

The best MP from Acholi sub region was Betty Aol Ocan, the Gulu District Woman MP who doubles as Leader of Opposition in Parliament with 95 percent. She was followed by Lyandro Komakech, the Gulu Municipality who was second best with 91.1 percent followed by Phillip Polly Okin of Chua West County ranked third with 81.6 percent and Environment Minister Beatrice Anywar of Kitgum Municipality (81.5 percent) in that order.

The State Minister for Finance and Ndorwa County MP David Bahati was ranked as the overall best performing Member of Parliament in the country scoring 99.3 percent. The scorecard assessed how MPs performed in plenary sessions, the different standing committees, and in their constituencies during the third session.