Gulu New Constituencies Attract 16 MP Aspirants

The three newly created constituencies in Gulu City have attracted 16 Parliamentary aspirants. The constituencies are Laroo- Pece Division, Bar- Dege- Layibi Division and Gulu Woman MP seat.

Gulu is among the 10 Municipalities that were recently elevated by Parliament to cities.

Those who have already shown interests to represent Laroo- Pece Division in Parliament include John Bosco Uhuru, a youth activist; George Mwa Lurum; Simon Peter Oola and Fr Rev Charles Onen, a vocal catholic priest. All on an independent ticket.

Fr Onen said he wants to bring lost trust on leadership. Appearing on Te-Yat, weekly a political talkshow on 102 Mega FM Gulu recently, Onen said he does not regret offering himself for leadership. The catholic priest also accuses current political leaders of monetizing politics.

Others in the race for Pece- Laroo include Francis Uhuru of the Alliance for National Transformation (ANT); Christine Atimango and Nancy Atimango(NRM); Christopher Okidi, President of the Uganda Young Democrats who is the DP flag bearer.

On the other hand, Bar-Dege- Layibi Division has attracted four strong candidates including the Gulu District LCV Chairperson, Martin Ojara Mapenduzi, a former member of the opposition Forum for Democratic Change; Tonny Kitara, an advocate. Mapenduzi and Kitara are running on an independent ticket. Also, in the race include Lyandro Komakech, current MP of Gulu Municipality from which the new constituencies have been curved. Komakech is standing on the Democratic Party ticket.  Thomas Okot Oboma, another aspireant for Bar-Dege Layibi, is an independent.

The Gulu Woman MP seat has attracted four aspirants. They are Betty Aol Ocan (FDC) the incumbent Gulu District Woman MP who doubles the Leader of Opposition in Parliament; Rosemary Atim (independent); Marie Shaka Lapolo (NRM) and Jolly Grace Laker (DP).