DP Denies Former Youth Wing Leader Flag for Gulu MP Seat

The Democratic Party (DP) has denied Christopher Okidi, the former leader of the party’s youth wing, Uganda Young Democrat (UYD), the flag for Pece- Laroo Division Parliamentary seat.

Uganda’s oldest opposition party settled for Simon Opoka, it’s Vice National Chairman as the official party flagbearer for the newly created Pece- Laroo Division, created after Gulu Municipality was elevated to a city in July, this year.

Justine Obol Simpleman, the DP Regional Representative for Acholi confirmed to our reporter in an interview that Okidi was dropped by the vetting committee.

According to Obol, Okidi, Opoka and Fredrick Ocaya had appeared before the vetting committee seeking for the party flag in the race for Pece- Laroo Division parliamentary race.

Obol however said that Okidi and Ocaya were not picked since the committee found that they were not suitable candidates for party flag.

In 2011, Opoka run unsuccessfully for Aswa County MP against Reagan Okumu.

Okidi has however remained tight-lipped over the matter when contacted.

Meanwhile the DP vetting committee has picked Patrick Okello Onguti as the official party flagbearer for Aswa County in Gulu district.

On the other hand, Gorreti Okello Odoki is the Gulu Woman MP flagbearer.

Others are Ms Betty Kilama, the Omoro District Woman MP flagbearer, Peter Okot (Tochi County), Jolly Laker Grace (Gulu City Woman MP) and Lyandro Komakech (Bar-Dege-Layibi Division).