Independent Candidates Dominate Gulu City Parliamentary Race

Independent candidates running for different constituencies in Gulu have dominated the 2021 Parliamentary race.

Ten of the 21 candidates seeking for elections in Gulu City are independents.

Pece- Laroo Division in Gulu City has attracted 10 candidates, the highest in the newly created divisions. Five are seeking for election on an independent ticket while three have been nominated as party flagbearers.

The independents are Charles Odokonyero, Fr Charles Onen, Simon Peter Oola, the Gulu District Vice Chairperson, Christine Atimango and Michael Otim.

Geoffrey Komakech has been nominated as the FDC party flagbearer, Caesar Lubangakene, the National Unity Platform (NUP) candidate, Simon Opoka (DP), Nancy Atimango (NRM) and Robert Adongakulu, Alliance for National Transformation (ANT).

The Bar-Dege- Layibi Division attracted five candidates, with three running on independent ticket. The independents are Tonny Kitara, an advocate, Martin Ojara Mapenduzi, the current Gulu District LCV Chairperson, Thomas Oboma Okot, the Chairperson Gulu District Boda-Boda Association and Roy Robert Olal of the NRM party and Brian Jakisa Mungu, the NUP candidate.

The Gulu City Woman MP has attracted four candidates with two running on independent tickets. They include the Leader of Opposition in Parliament (LoP) Betty Aol Ocan (FDC), Jolly Grace Laker (DP), Rosemary Atim and Vento Auma Ogora, both independent candidates.

Nominations for Member of Parliament aspirants kicked on October 15, 2020 and will end on October 16, 2020.

Emmanuel Mwaka Lutukumoi was not nominated due to the discrepancies in his name in both academic papers and national ID.