Alfred Okwonga Wins Gulu City Mayoral Race

Alfred Okwonga, the National Resistance Movement (NRM) party flagbearer for the Gulu City Mayoral seat has beaten his closest rival Christopher Acire (FDC) to win the Gulu Mayoral race.

Okwonga garnered 16,160 votes against Acire’s 7,755.

Acire was also the Mayor Gulu Municipality between 2006 and 2011 before he successfully run for the Gulu Municipality MP seat.

Acire represented Gulu Municipality in Parliament from 2011-2016 when he contested for the Aswa County MP seat and lost to Ronald Reagan Okumu in the 2016 Parliamentary election.

Other candidates for the Gulu Mayoral race were Zeru Abhuka Ominowiny (898 votes); George Aligech Lapir (754) and Wilfred Nyeko (105). All the three were independent candidates.

Robert Adongakulu of the Alliance for National Transformation (ANT) got 105 votes while DP’s Rocky Oyoo Menya got 295 votes.

Okwonga is now set to become the inaugural Mayor of Gulu after it was elevated to a City in July 2020.