FDC, DP Win in Gulu City New Divisions

Geoffrey Otim, the Democratic Party flagbearer for the Laroo- Pece Division Mayoral seat in Gulu City has defeated six other candidates to win the race.

Otim got 4,308 votes against his closest rival George Labeja, the interim Mayor of Gulu City. Labeja who run on an Independent ticket polled 3,589 votes.

Moses Abonga of the Forum for Democratic Change (FDC) polled 1,922 votes; Kelly Komakech (Independent) 1,475; Tonny Francis Okot of the NRM (1,321); Patrick Omaya (890) while Robinson Akena came last with 851 votes.

In Bar-Dege- Layibi Division Mayoral race, Patrick Oola Lumumba, the FDC party flagbearer was declared winner with 2,528 votes beating George Ogwette of the DP with just 66 votes. Ogwette polled 2,528.

Alfred Oluba, the former Layibi Division Chairperson who run on Independent ticket came third with 1,8833 votes followed by Denis Okello Oweka of the NRM party with 1,626 votes. Other candidates included Richard Odokonyero (262), Walter Aaron Onekalit (136), Michael Gabriel Odokonyero (22). All run on Independent ticket.

The two divisions in Gulu City became operational in July 2020 after Gulu Municipality was elevated to a City.

In Kitgum Municipality, Richard Ojara Okwera, an Independent candidate beat six other candidates to win the race.

 Okwera garnered 3,785 votes.