Articles Posted by the Author:

  • ICC Postpones Date For Dominic Ongwen Judgement

    The International Criminal Court (ICC) has pushed the date it will deliver judgement in a case where the alleged former senior Lord’s Resistance Army (LRA) rebel commander is accused of war crimes and crimes against humanity. The Hague based court had set January 12, 2021, as date for delivery if the judgement. However, in a […]

  • 18 Huts Torched in Amuru in Revenge Attack

    At least 18 grass- thatched huts were burnt down in Andara village, Pabbo Sub County in Amuru District in a revenge attack after a 24-year-old woman allegedly killed her father-in-law for attempting to rape her. The attackers also killed 19 goats and burned down 151 bags unthreshed rice. It is alleged that members of the […]

  • Independent Candidates Dominate Gulu City Parliamentary Race

    Independent candidates running for different constituencies in Gulu have dominated the 2021 Parliamentary race. Ten of the 21 candidates seeking for elections in Gulu City are independents. Pece- Laroo Division in Gulu City has attracted 10 candidates, the highest in the newly created divisions. Five are seeking for election on an independent ticket while three […]

  • DP Denies Former Youth Wing Leader Flag for Gulu MP Seat

    The Democratic Party (DP) has denied Christopher Okidi, the former leader of the party’s youth wing, Uganda Young Democrat (UYD), the flag for Pece- Laroo Division Parliamentary seat. Uganda’s oldest opposition party settled for Simon Opoka, it’s Vice National Chairman as the official party flagbearer for the newly created Pece- Laroo Division, created after Gulu […]

  • Omoro District LCV Boss Faces Former area MP, Three Others

    Peter Douglas Okello, the Omoro District LCV Chairperson is facing stiff competition from four other candidates including Simon Tolit Akecha, the former Member of Parliament for Omoro County. Okello is the official NRM party flagbearer in the race for the Omoro District LCV Chairperson seat. This is the second time Tolit who lost in the […]

  • 7 Vie for Gulu District LCV Seat

    At least seven candidates including four independents have been successfully nominated to contest for the Gulu District LCV Chairperson seat. Julius Agaba, the Electoral Commission Deputy Registrar for Gulu said the candidates were nominated after they met all set requirements Those nominated by the Electoral Commission officials include Christopher Opiyo Ateker, the NRM Party flagbearer, […]

  • Two South Sudanese Nationals Arrested in Amuru over Illegal Firearm

    Police in Amuru District is holding two South Sudanese nationals over allegation of illegal possession of firearm. Angello Kiir,  34 and Bol Ngor, 29 were arrested on Wednesday at Palabel in Atiak Sub County in Amuru District, along Gulu-Nimule Highway, with a pistol and 15 rounds of live ammunitions. They were travelling in a Blue […]

  • Nanga Legend Ogwang Clipper Is Dead

    Renowned Nanga legend Ogwang Clipper is dead. Clipper, as he was popularly known, breathed his last at Gulu Referral hospital where he had been hospitalized from long-running chronic illnesses. He was 84. He had been admitted at the health facility two weeks ago. Patrick Lamot, a relative to the deceased confirmed his death. According to […]

  • Gulu Health Authorities Ask For 100 Body Bags

    The spike in cases of Coronavirus and the second death in Gulu has prompted the district health officials to request for 100 body bags for burying victims. In less than two weeks, Gulu registered 50 cases of community infections of Covid-19. On Thursday last week, a second victim of Coronavirus was buried at Bolipii village in […]

  • NRM LCV Elections: Who Won in Acholi?

    Peter Douglas Okello, the Omoro District LCV Chairperson has been declared winner of the hotly contested NRM primaries for the LCV seat, beating three other contenders. Okello polled 16,514 votes to his closest rivals Damasco Odongo, the current District Speaker who polled 7,140 while Stephen Odong Latek polled 2,192. Okello was declared winner by Tonny […]

error: Content is protected !!